TRIED & TESTED: Glossybox.

GlossyboxAs a girl, there are a few things I look forward to each month: My monthly Oxford Street payday blowout and my monthly hair and face rescue sessions are just two of these things. However, nothing gets me quite as excited as when my Glossybox hits the doormat each month.

For those of you who don’t know what a Glossybox is, let me explain….

  1. You pay between £8.50 and £10 per month (+£2.95 P+P)
  2. You fill in a quick beauty survey when you sign up so the guys at Glossybox know exactly what you like; your makeup style, hair and skin type etc.
  3. The magic beauty fairies at Glossybox send you five awesome beauty product samples. These can be anything from makeup to moisturiser, hair goodies or beauty hardware (think eyelash curlers and premium makeup brushes) ..and everything in between!

Each month you receive your products beautifully packaged, enveloped in tissue and ribbon, and in a handy box (which doubles up as cute makeup storage). Who wouldn’t feel special coming home from work to this little treat?

Glossy Box April 2014

Also note the ‘Products Card’ and Glossybox magazine. The first gives you information and instructions for your products, while the magazine highlights beauty trends and gives you inspiration to incorporate with your new beauty products.

GlossyboxHowever, this month, Glossybox, you have truly excelled yourselves!

It’s like you knew I was stocking up for festival season. So here’s an honest, unbiased review of my April Glossybox.

My April Products:

  • MONU Spa Massaging oil
  • MeMeMe Cosmetics highlighter
  • He-shi false tan
  • Emite lip brush
  • TRESemmé dry shampoo.

 

Emite Makeup Lip Brush | RRP: £16 | Verdict: 7/10

I don’t usually use lip brushes, so I initially wasn’t overly excited about receiving this. However, it was easy to use and seemed to make my lipstick application more precise and the finish longer lasting.


MONU Spa Warming Ginger Massage & Body Oil | RRP: £25 for 100ml | Glossybox size: 30ml | Verdict: 8/10Glossybox 2

Referring to my earlier comment, Glossybox sent me a festival goodiebag this month! This fresh smelling oil can be massaged into the skin in the shower, or added to a bath for a relaxing and skin softening experience. I loved it. This will be an absolute treat for my weary, post-Glastonbury body! I’d never heard of the brand previously, so thanks for introducing me, Glossybox! I’m officially on a hunt for more goodies from these guys.


MeMeMe Cosmetics ‘Beat the Blues’ – Pearl Pink | RRP: £5.50 for 12ml | Glossybox size: 12ml | Verdict: 10/10Glossybox 3

I admit it: I’m contouring obsessed. Kim K has truly unleashed the contouring kerfuffle upon the world. Highligher is something I’m seriously into, and I was looking for a new brand of highlighter for the festival season. I’d never heard of MeMeMe Cosmetics, so this was a real treat. Perfect consistency, true pearly and glowing finish, and long-lasting wear. Amazing. This is going straight into my makeup bag, and I’m heading out to stock up for the summer!

 

TRESemmé ‘Instant Refresh’ Cleansing Dry Shampoo | RRP: £4.99 for 200ml | Glossybox size: 100ml | Verdict: 9/10Glossybox 4

When it comes to festival toiletry packing, dry shampoo is fairly high on the list. And I hold my hands up to blindly heading to trusted dry shampoo kings, Batiste, every time. I was intrigued when I received TRESemmé’s dry shampoo offering (and it was also hair wash day, so the perfect time to test out the product). Impressed. Fresh yet not overbearing scent, no pesky white residue when applied as per instructions, and gave my hair that lease of life that only dry shampoo or a good wash can achieve. Another one for the Glasto packing list. Thank you Glosssybox and thank you TRESemmé.

Hi-Shi Professional Tanning ‘Face & Body Gel’ | RRP: £7.95 for 50ml (Travel size) | Glossybox size: 50ml | Verdict: TBC

Glossybox 5This product I haven’t tried yet. If I’m being totally honest, I’m usually too lazy to fake tan. However this one looks promising. A gel-textured, rich brown offering that promises to be “A high performance self-tan…for a gorgeous glow that nourishes skin”. It’s applied the same as most false tans; with a mitt and developing over 5-7 hours. One to test this weekend. Watch this space!

This month, I’ve found myself with far more bang for my £10 with this little lot. It’s like the fairies at Glossybox climbed into my head and sent me exactly what I was looking for, so thanks for that!

GlossyBox April 2014

 

About amyharland

25 | Northerner in Camden | I love writing, music, moaning and all kinds of girly crap.
This entry was posted in Festival, Glastonbury, Reviews, TRIED & TESTED and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

